Chinese Dumplings or Potstickers

Hi there everyone. Hope you are having a great day and beautiful Fall. Enjoy the days….they go way too fast. Before you know it Winter will be here….uge, snow and cold is on the way.

I made some Chinese Dumplings or Potstickers. I have bought these at the store…but never thought to make them myself. One of the blogs that I follow, Tina at: http://www.kittykatkards.blogspot.com made some dumplings and I asked her for her recipe, it is: http://chinesefood.about.com/od/potstickers/r/potstickers/htm  Go to the second section, that would be the recipe I followed.

IMG_2355

In this picture (which is sideways….sorry about that, but you get the idea.) The filling is ground pork, bok choy, salt and pepper, onions, wine, cornstarch and sesame oil. Mix altogether. The dough is 2 cups of flour and 1 cup of hot water. Mix together and knead, then roll out into 3″ circles. Spoon on the filling and fold over and pinch the sides together.

IMG_2358

Fry these babies in some oil till browned then pour 1 cup of hot water over the dumplings, cover and cook for 6-7 minutes or until the water is absorbed. Tina said she just boils the  dumplings, if you want to skip the frying part. I liked the crunch of the dumplings!! Mmmm they were delish!!!

IMG_2359The sauce is low sodium soy sauce and sesame oil mixed and poured over the dumplings or you can dip the dumplings in the sauce. JP really enjoyed them, I think he had about 12 dumplings. I am not sure how many I had. I am hoping the calorie count was not too high on these. Cause I really enjoyed them and plan on making them again….soon!!

Well, I hope you try and make these, you will be glad you did. Have a great day and keep looking up. Enjoy the rest of this beautiful Fall. Cheers ~ Louise

About louisellen1121

Still trying to decide who I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chinese Dumplings or Potstickers

  1. biz319 says:

    Bravo for making your own wontons! I usually cheat – my store sells pot sticker wrappers for .99 a package – too easy not to do it semi-homemade. Yours look delish!!

Leave a Reply

