Beets, Beets and More Beets!!!

Hi There everyone. Hope you are having a wonderful week-end. Today I thought I would show you what I did with some beets JP brought home for me to play with last night. You can go to http://cards4ubylouise.blogspot.com for the full story.

Peeling and slicing Potatoes and Beets!!

Peeling and slicing Potatoes and Beets!!

Here I am peeling and slicing the potatoes and beets. Getting ready to place them in a pot of hot water for 1 hour to boil till tender. Salt and pepper added to taste.

Boiling potatoes and beets.

Boiling potatoes and beets.

I then added onions, garlic and carrots (you can omit the onions and actually use whatever your choice of vegie) and fried in olive oil then added it to the beets and potatoes. Cooked until tender then blended with an immersable blender to give it a creamy look.

Borscht and Pickled Beets.

Borscht and Pickled Beets.

In this picture the Borscht is on the left and the Pickled Beets on the Right. I added a dollop of sour cream and a dash of dried chives for color. This is making me hungry, Maybe in an hour or so, I shall have a small bowl of borscht….now I never thought I would be saying that…because beets have never been a favorite of mine….funny how our tastes change as we get older. Yes, this I could eat.

Have a great weekend and keep looking up. Cheers ~ Louise

About louisellen1121

Still trying to decide who I am.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beets, Beets and More Beets!!!

  1. hollycgodbey says:

    I’d actually planned to make borscht for the first time this week!

  2. biz319 says:

    I am not a huge fan of beets Louise, but I made a beet hummus that was actually really good! Perfect balance of sweet and savory and perfect for crackers.

    http://www.mybizzykitchen.com/2010/04/18/bsi-beets/

    Yep, the soup ended up tasting a bit like the roasted veggie marinara, although not as thick. Really delish!

    • That beet hummus sounds interesting. I would have to say, the beet sounds like an all around vegie. Today I am going to make baked beet chips….last night it was marinara sauce with the greens and one beet.

  3. biz319 says:

    I can’t announce anything on social media until tomorrow. . . but check it out!!

    http://contest.awayfromhomecooking.com/

    Have a great weekend with J.P.! 😀

    • OOOHHHHHH How exciting for you Biz….do they tell you how many votes you got??? Can hardly wait…hope you win the $5K!!!! Yay..way to go!!!

      • biz319 says:

        Nope, I only know I was one of the top two out of the 50. Thanks sweetie! It’s nice to have something fun to look forward to after a summer of hospital stays! 😀

Leave a Reply

